Graduate Council Meeting Minutes

12:00 pm, Wednesday, April 20, 2022

Zoom

Meeting called to order at 12:01 pm

- 1. Roll Call (Completed via Zoom Chat and Zoom Participant features)
 - Present: See Attached Roll Call List (page 2)
 - Invited Guests: C. Tsatsoulis, S. Fayek
 - Other Guests/Attendees: K. Shepherd, J. Sinnott, S. Matson, E. Reven, M. Powers, M. Armstrong, R. Morales
- 2. Approval of Minutes from April 6, 2022 Meeting
 - S. Stanley moved to approve; S. Corns seconded.
 - Correction to minutes: List one abstention for item 4; resolution in support of graduate student bill of rights; 13 yes, 0 no, 0 abstentions
- 3. Update Regarding Stipend X Discussion
 - S. Corns moved to suspend rules; C. Kueny seconded; 11 yes, 0 no, 0 abstentions
 - S. Sedigh motioned to recommend a 5% increase in Stipend X for FY 2023; C. Kueny seconded; 10 yes, 1 no, 1 abstention
 - Chair sought volunteers for ad hoc committee on Stipend X
 - Volunteers: Sarah Stanley (business); Sara Fayek (non-voting graduate student); Manashi Nath (science); Clair Kueny (arts, humanities, social sciences); Jee-Ching Wang (engineering); Costas Tsatsoulis (Office of Graduate Studies)
 - Also seeking representative from Human Resources and Vice Chancellor of Research
- 4. Update Regarding Potential Creation of Standing Liaison Committee Between Graduate Faculty and Faculty Senate
 - Informational
- 5. Discussion on Potential Elimination of 'Application to Conduct Off-Campus Research' Form
 - Alternate suggestion proposed to update master's and doctoral sections of the Graduate Catalog to replace "must" with "should" in regard to the submission of this form. Also to recommend change to Chancellor's Policy Memo II-20 to remove "on-campus" and replace "must" with "should" in regard to approval of off-campus research.
 - S. Corns moved to approve; S. Sedigh seconded; 14 yes, 0 no, 0 abstentions
- 6. Revision of Graduate Catalog to Clarify Failing of Doctoral Exams Twice
 - S. Sedigh moved to approve; C, Kueny seconded; 12 yes, 0 no, 0 abstentions
- 7. Proposal from Ad hoc Committee for Removing Advisor/Committee Member
 - C. Kueny moved to revise the master's section of the Graduate Catalog to include the current process of removing advisors/committee members from a program/plan of study; M. Thimgan seconded: 12 yes, 0 no, 0 abstentions
 - S. Sedigh moved to revise the doctoral section of the Graduate Catalog to include the current process of removing advisors/committee members from a program/plan of study; A. Adekpedjou seconded: 10 yes, 0 no, 0 abstentions

- D. Oerther moved to table second part of this proposal (Creation of contingency procedure for authorizing the unilateral removal of an advisor/member) and adjourn due to lack of time for discussion; A. Adekpedjou seconded; Approved unanimously.
- 8. Discussion of Need for Standing Rules and Regulations Committee
 - D. Oerther moved to table and adjourn due to lack of time for discussion; A. Adekpedjou seconded; Approved unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 1:03 pm

Program/Department	Name	Present	Designee Present
Aerospace Engineering	Serhat Hosder	Х	
Applied Mathematics	Gayla Olbricht	Х	
Arts, Language, & Philosophy*			
Biological Sciences	Matt Thimgan	Х	
Business Administration (MBA)	Sarah Stanley	Х	
Ceramic Engineering	Aditya Kumar		
Chemical Engineering	Jee-Ching Wang	Х	
Chemistry	Manashi Nath	Х	
Civil Engineering	Cesar Mendoza	Х	
Computer Engineering	Sahra Sedighsarvestani	Х	
Computer Science	Sanjay Madria		
Economics*	Yishu Zhou	Х	
Electrical Engineering	Chang-Soo Kim		
Engineering Management	Steven Corns	Х	
Environmental Engineering	Cesar Mendoza	Х	
Explosives Engineering	Kyle Perry	Х	Lana Alagha
Geological Engineering	Ryan Smith	Х	
Geology and Geophysics	Wan Yang		
Geotechnics	Jeffrey Cawlfield		
History and Political Science*	Michael Meagher		
Industrial-Organizational Psychology	Clair Kueny	Х	
Information Science & Technology	Cecil Chua	Х	
Manufacturing Engineering	Frank Liou		
Materials Science & Engineering	Aditya Kumar		
Mathematics	Akim Adekpedjou	Х	
Mechanical Engineering	Xiaodong Yang	Х	
Metallurgical Engineering	Aditya Kumar		
Mining Engineering	Lana Alagha	Х	
Nuclear Engineering	Ayodeji Alajo		
Petroleum Engineering	Baojun Bai		
Physics	Daniel Fischer	Х	
Systems Engineering	Cihan Dagli		
Technical Communication	Edward Malone	Х	

Officer Position	Name	Present	
Chair	Matt Insall	Х	
Secretary	Daniel Oerther	Х	
Parliamentarian	V. Prakash Reddy	Х	

*Department offering 5000 level courses but no graduate program